Best foundation for oily skin

So I suffer from mega oily skin and I always have done. Ever since I was a teenager I have been looking for a perfect foundation/powder combo to keep my skin matte and shine free all day. Well lasses, at the age of 29 I think I’ve finally found it!

I had previously been using the Bobbi Brown Long Wear Even Finish Foundation in ‘honey’ along with the Bobbi Brown Sheer Finish Pressed Powder in ‘soft honey’ as I had been told over and over that Bobbi Brown is the best cosmetics firm for black skin here in the UK. I liked the matte finish that the powder gave me but after a few hours I was having to top up with powder and every few hours after that. Also, I found the colour to be slightly too dark as I had to go a shade up due to the limited availability of colours in the Long Wear range. This fact coupled with hourly powder top ups often left me slightly orange by the end of the day, not a good look I’m sure you’ll agree. Although it was the best foundation for my oily skin I’d came across til that point.

Step forward Estée Lauder! My mate (and fellow West End Girl) Alison had raved about how good the Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation was for a while, so after some umming and ahhing I thought I’d give it a go. I went along to Boots in Eldon Square and had my make-up done by a fellow Lucy at the Estée Lauder counter. I really liked the effortless, natural matte look it gave me and the colour match is perfect, the best colour match I’ve ever had on my long quest to find the perfect foundation. I went ahead and bought the Estée Lauder Double Wear foundation and the Double Wear pressed powder both in ‘shell beige’ (which looks lighter in the bottle but goes on just right) and I can say I’ve never been happier with my make-up. I’ve had numerous compliments on it and it actually does what it says on the bottle – stays in place! It’s also slightly cheaper than the Bobbi Brown products as a bonus!

Have any of you got any tips for dealing with oily skin? Feel free to leave them in the comments, cheers lasses!

20140614-114841-42521214.jpg

About JustLuce

Black Stars. NUFC. Eighties Child. Geordie. Disney. Black is Beautiful.

5 responses to “Best foundation for oily skin

  1. Glad you found your perfect foundation! 🙂 I too suffer from quite oily skin, mostly on my T zone. Everyone says good things about this Estee Lauder foundation. Guess I’ll have to try it out for myself!
    Wanna follow each other? 😀
    https://thebeautyfanatic.wordpress.com/

  2. lookbeyondbeauty

    Looks great, if only it wasn’t so expensive 🙂
    lets follow each other? 🙂 http://lookbeyondbeauty.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

