African Black Soap

My skin has always been pretty oily and I’d been using Clean & Clear Exfoliating Daily Wash for years to try to keep blemishes and breakouts to a minimum. Recently though I’d found that I had more spots than usual – teenage skin at the age of 29 is not a good look!

I wondered whether all the chemicals and additives in the products I’d been using on my skin could possibly be the reason behind my increased number of blemishes so I decided to try something a bit more natural. I’d looked at Lush products but felt dismayed by the presence of synthetic additives and decided against them. I’d read reviews before about African Black Soap so I did a little research on this. The prevalent (and cheapest) seemed to be Dudu Osun which has good reviews, however, from what I could gather is made in a factory in Nigeria & there didn’t seem to be any information about whether or not it was fair trade. It is important to me to buy fair trade products if I am buying something from Africa, after all, we must show respect to the Motherland.

After a little Googling, I came across Akoma Original Ghanaian Black Soap which is not only fair trade but also handmade in Ghana. I have to say that I haven’t been happier with a face wash! My skin seems less oily and my spots are starting to clear as a consequence. It lathers up really well so you hardly have to use any – this is definitely a product which will last – excellent value for money. I’m not sure if this would be the right product for you if you have dry skin, but for me it is perfect.

Next I’d like to look for a completely natural moisturiser which is suitable for oily skin. If you have any tips or advice for me please feel free to leave them in the comments.

Cheers, lasses!

20140716-173646-63406506.jpg

20140716-173643-63403609.jpg

20140716-173645-63405143.jpg

20140716-173647-63407995.jpg

About JustLuce

Black Stars. NUFC. Eighties Child. Geordie. Disney. Black is Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

